North York YMCA: Centre for Self-Esteem Rollercoaster Effects

Standard

I showed up at 11am yesterday morning for an appointment with Charles, a personal trainer. Despite having gone to the gym pretty regularly since June 20th, when i got back from the Baltic Cruise, and having lost 3 inches off my waistline, i am still in pretty bad shape. I would even go so far as to call myself a weakling. Pushups, lunges and situps are grueling. The cardio i have been assigned, however, is well within my capabilities. I was not feeling great about myself as i entered the locker rooms for a shower.
And then i was confronted with the typical YMCA North York Womens’ Locker Room view. I hate the female body. I particularly hate rolls, flaps and lumps on women who, clothed, look fine. I loathe some women’s apparent need to be exhibitionists.
I still feel like a weakling. My thighs are aching, my pecs are sore. I am not as critical of the view i get in a mirror anymore – it could be a lot worse. All of this for the bargain price of $40/month.

4 thoughts on “North York YMCA: Centre for Self-Esteem Rollercoaster Effects

  1. I disagree. The female body is awesome. Well… better than the male body anyway.

    Don’t feel like a weakling. If your muscles don’t hurt after a workout, you didn’t work hard enough. 🙂

  2. I too attend the North York YMCA..
    and i can say that i absolutely DREAD the damn mirrors in that women’s changeroom..
    i personally use the spacious changing stalls with the locking doors for ultimate privacy,avoid mirrors at all costs,and shower in the private curtained stalls.
    omg i also can’t stand it when some women feel the need to parade around naked or change in front of everyone..like,HELLO!!?..MODESTY??!..WHERE ARE YOU?..
    no,but seriously; we DON’T NEED TO SEE THAT ISH.

Leave a Reply

