Presenting on Rousseau

Standard

We are reaching a milestone in my academic career. Exactly one week from today i am supposed to lead a class on Part 2 of Rousseau’s Discourse on Inequality. Unfortunately, Eric hasn’t even read this work in the past year, so i am going to have to fend for myself to a large extent. I am scared. Teaching political philosophy is hard enough when everyone is interested in it. This great books class is odd with quite a mix of different individuals in the class. I cannot really stick with my bread and butter – which would be to try and tie the points into the other works in the Western Canon.
Yesterday i pulled a “god i love living alone” evening. Went to sleep at 8:30pm. Woke up at 2am. Worked until 5am. Went back to sleep until 9am. I work so much more effectively in those first hours of wakefulness. For the first time in weeks i came to school today having completed all the items on my to-do list. Woohoo!

One thought on “Presenting on Rousseau

  1. I’ve been toying with the idea of writing my final research essay for civ2 on Rousseau. I’ll likely be reading Inequality, but not in time to help you.
    Sorry.

Leave a Reply

