Toronto: First Impressions

Standard

Toronto is kind of pretty. I wasn’t expecting it really. Where Veronica lives is very quaint and any apartment done with slate floors, stainless steel but very dark woods is likely to be pretty. I can tell they’re IKEA fans, but I like IKEA too, so all good.

Mark picked us up at Union station (where if you follow the crowd you end up at departures upon arriving and not arrivals – poor Veronica thought I never got on the train) and after stopping at the LCBO to pick up four bottles of wine and a bottle of vodka (ABSOLUT), we went to an oyster bar. I was very perplexed by the Speedy Muffler on this main drag. I had some of the best clam chowder I’ve ever had.

I ended up sitting next to a young man who had just completed his masters in Norse and Anglo-Saxon literature. Guess what we talked about? BOOKS! I am officially not allowed to continue with this dislike for Beowulf.

I went to see the Poseidon Adventure on Tuesday with Steve. Ashleigh works as an intern for Tribute and she transcribed the interviews with the actors. It was surprisingly good. I was expecting something over the top that treated me like an idiot, but it was nice and simple. I spent the entire movie curled up in a ball under extreme stress, which is a good sign for any thriller. Definitely worth the five dollars it cost Steve. It was still very weird to feel so distant to him. I guess I am starting to get used to not talking to him everyday at least once and seeing him three to four times a week. I was thinking about how I am going to cope with our would-be seven-year anniversary in October. He was supposed to come visit Veronica with me this week-end… maybe I’ll go visit a University I am applying to that week-end too, as it is Canadian Thanksgiving…Boston/Harvard might be nice. I’ve never been. Of course, I don’t even know if I am going to apply to Harvard yet. I can only apply to two, maybe three if I really like my other options, schools I am unlikely to get into. I should really be studying for the GREs and not sitting here doing nothing.

Ha. I created both a banner and a button for the Murphy’s Law issue. I have been brainstorming and came up with a couple more ideas that the actual editors can shoot down as stupid at the next meeting.

So, I need to start writing a media kit…good plan.

One thought on “Toronto: First Impressions

Leave a Reply

